Adobo with a twist

I love adobo and I was intrigued when I read in the paper (Philippine Star) today that a healthy adobo was conconcted by a Filipina during the Healthy and Tasty Challenge 2009 Filipino Recipe Competition in Blacktown, NSW, Australia.  The Filipina’s name is Neria Soliman and below is her Adobo recipe. According to her, the secret is in the vinegar she used, Mama Sita’s Cococnut Nectar Vinegar. I don’t know if the contest was sponsored by Mama Sita but here is her adobo recipe.

Adobo Supreme

Ingredients

  • 1 k mixed chicken without skin
  • 3/4 cup Mama Sita Native Coconut Nectar Vinegar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp cracked peppercorn
  • 2 pcs small bay leaf
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup pineapple juice the the tin of crushed pineapple
  • 2 cups crushed pineapple
  • 2 slices fresh pineapple rings as sidings
  • 1/4 cup pineapple chunks for garnish
  • toasted garlic

Procedure

  • Prepare and measure all ingredients and mix together the first 6 ingredients. Let stand for 10 minutes
  • Cook in a pan, cover and simmer
  • Drain the chicken but set aside the sauce
  • Fry the chicken briefly in small amount of oil until golden brown
  • Add the fried chicken to the sauce where the chicken was simmered
  • Add juice from the crushed pineapple (optional), continue to simmer until chicken is tender
  • Add crushed pineapple
  • Continue cooking until sauce is thick. Add additional soy sauce to taste
  • When cooked, put pineapple chunks as garnish. Sprinkle with toasted garlic

Put adobo on top of 1/2 cup rice. Put 2 – 3 slices of pineapple rings and green onion stems as sidings. Serve with grilled eggplant salad in lemon dressing.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Makes four to six servings.

So there you are, enjoy your adobo!

9 thoughts on “Adobo with a twist

  1. Hi !

    This looks really yummy!

    I’m compiling a list of all the different ways to cook adobo in a quest to find what a true filipino adobo is today, and I’m happy to include your adobo recipe in my article at http://kumain.com/1001-adobo-recipes/. I hope you don’t mind the link from my site to yours =)

    Keep in touch!

  2. Pingback: 1001 Adobo Recipes Recipe | Kumain.com

    • Thanks for dropping by. That’s good to know. I hope you do try the recipe and enjoy it. You can contact me through my email which is found in this blog.
      Thanks again! God bless!

  3. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.

    Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

    • Hello Shay,
      Thanks for visiting. Sorry for this late reply. It’s been sometime since I last visited this blog so I can’t say much about your problem. I usually use Firefox or Chrome and I just shift from one to the other if I encounter any difficulties, which I actually have not. I hope I have answered your question.

Leave a Reply

